I see it’s been a month since my last blog, so I guess I’m holding true to form in being slack with the postings.  Oh well.  What can I say?  I’ve been pretty busy with the Timneh Grey kids lately.  One might think I have all kinds of spare time, and yet it doesn’t feel that way at all.  Again I marvel at how anyone can say they are bored to be home, or would be bored without an outside job.

So we made it through January, and I must say this has been one of the easiest Januarys ever.  The whole winter so far has been pretty kind to us.  We have very little snow on the ground – probably less than a foot in the open areas – but we are due for 5 to 8 inches in the next couple days.  I hope we don’t see the mixed precip up here and that it stays mainly snow.  But regardless, February will fly by and we’ll be into March.  Once March is here, even if we have blizzards, the feel of things is different and you can tell spring is on the way.

Spring is the greatest time of the year, especially before the bugs come.  Those of us in the land of ice and snow should feel sorry for the Florida winter-dwellers, for they never get that cheap thrill of spring coming after a long, cold winter.  One of my best memories from childhood is riding my bike down the hill by our house and seeing the water running down the hill from the melting snowbanks.  How great was that feeling!   Here it’s more like winter and then mud season.  Not quite the same exhilaration from melting snowbanks, but a thrill nonetheless.  It’ll be here soon.

The timneh kids are still on two formula handfeedings per day, though the first one is now stretching out to early afternoon as they are able to eat more on their own.  This morning, for example, they got a big dish of warmed Beans/Rice/Veggie mix put into their cage at around 7:15.  It’s not easy doing that, because when the door opens they think it’s time to come out and play.  Mitzi is especially pushy in that respect, and gets rather irked with me when I shut the door practically in her face.  Within a few minutes she settles down and goes to eat, though.

Around 10 or 11 AM, the kids get to come out and have something else.  This morning it was warmed, soaked weaning pellets.  I put a dish of them on the counter and let the kids help themselves at first, then I feed more of them to the kids from my fingers.  They get to play for a bit then it’s time to go back into the cage to amuse themselves.  It’s after 1 PM now and time to give them the first formula feeding.  I will weigh them first, then feed them, then let them play some more.  Having their heads rubbed and scratched is high on their list of priorities right now, along with clip-clopping around on the counter seeing what they can chew or toss over the edge.  Sometimes they also turn their attention to climbing me.  It would seem the top of my head is their goal, while MY goal is to keep them OFF my head.

Later in the afternoon I will give them something else that they can feed themselves, and then in the evening they get to come out and have another formula handfeeding and a big playtime outing, with both Mom and Dad.  Then they have two of us to try to climb!

Stepping up is coming along really well now.  It’s as if they are totally clueless and uncooperative, then suddenly they get it.  It still may take a few more days for their motor skills to catch up, but they do.  Right now, even Frankie is doing a fair job, whereas a week ago he had no clue.  Mitzi has been stepping up like a pro for ages, wonky toe and all.

These are the sweetest kids I have raised.  Normally I see a bit of the biting, obnoxious behavior around 70 days old – or at least that used to be the norm – and that’s when we’d start showing them the “earthquake” move and get them back in line.  But the oldest, Gizmo (formerly known as Mr. Honks, Sir Honks-a-lot, Honky, etc.) is 85 days old today and still extremely sweet.  I have been holding them more than usual and spending much of that time rubbing their heads, and I started doing so at a very young age with this crew.  It seems to have made them much nicer birds.  So this is the new norm.  Mitzi is the most unruly of the three, but still much better than some have been in the past.

I believe they should be ready to go before the end of the month, but you never know.  I can’t rush them.  Some wean quickly and others more slowly.  This clutch seems slower than usual.  They will be worth the wait, though.

We have a pair of parrotlets nesting now.  The female is so feisty, too!  She will come charging out of the box when I tend their cage to give me what for!  LOL.  Also a pair of budgies is  going to nest.  This is an English hen with a nice-sized American male.  Should add a bit of size and be some nice kids, hopefully.  Right now she is busy attempting to remove every single piece of shavings from the box.

Last night was the Super Bowl.  Now, I’ve never liked football and never watched.  However, Luke Bryan was going to be singing the anthem, so I did turn it on to see that.  I thought he did a great job, too.  Then it was back to DVR heaven – Bigfoot and Mountain Monsters, my kind of entertainment!   Later in the night I was curious to see how the Patriots were doing.  I may not like football, but it would be hard to escape the Patriots fever in the northeast during football season.  From what I’d heard, I assumed they’d be winning.  So I found it online, and had to tune in to the Spanish broadcast because the English one was overloaded with viewers I guess, and never did load.  Numbers are numbers, so it didn’t matter.  I believe it was 12 to 28, with the Patriots losing.  I was surprised.  And it was early in the 4th quarter I think, so it seemed they might actually lose.  Despite not liking football, hubby and I actually got caught up in the game and watched.  I even tuned them in on the TV and left the Spanish internet broadcast behind.

I must say, it got exciting and eventually went into OT, which apparently was a first.  I’m sure everyone knows by now that the Patriots came from way behind to win.  Impressive.  I’m still not a football fan by any stretch of the imagination, but I was surprised at how much I knew about the game without knowing how I knew.  It seems like watching the Super Bowl is like watching the World Series, which I only do IF the Red Sox are in it.  However, baseball players are much more interesting to watch.  I like the cut of their jib, if you get my drift.  🙂

I’d like to say I’ll write again soon, but let’s face it – it will probably be another month.  Till then, check out the website and go check out the timnehs’ diary.  Maybe check out my etsy shop while you’re at it.  And remember, spring is just around the corner!

Nita

 

